Institution saved to your shortlist.

Taylor’s University

Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

New International Student Council Members Take Up Their Roles

30 Oct 2015
Prof. Perry Hobson, PVC Global Engagement (centre) with the 2015-16 International Student Council and Taylor's University staff.

The 2015-16 International Student Council Commissioning Dinner was recently held at the Holiday Inn, Glenmarie. The Commissioning Dinner is a formal function where the new student council members are acknowledged, and it provides an opportunity for them to meet one another and the key members of Taylor’s University staff (such as Hussaini Abdullah, Leonard Lim, Ivan Yong, Tee Chin Hin and Jung Gyeo Woon) that they will be working with during their tenure.  The members of the Council are largely drawn from the nine International Student Societies that represent various national groupings on-campus – such as Indonesia, Mauritius, Korea, China, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Sri Lanka etc. Each member of the Council is appointed to a specific role (such as Vice President of Finance, Public Relations Specialist). Given that there are some 2,000 international students studying at Taylor's University, these students play an important leadership role in contributing to the diversity of student life at the university. They work together to put on established events such as World Fest and to develop new ideas such as International Week. This year's President of the TUISC is Hamza Aslam from Pakistan, who will be supported by five Vice Presidents, nine Specialists and nine Executive Directors with specific roles. For more information about international student activities, visit the official website or to get involved with the activities contact Hussaini Abdullah.

Share this