1 year
Study mode
Other costs
Other costs apply

About this course

The Division of Computer and Information Sciences in New Brunswick was established at Rutgers in 1969 as the Computer Science Department. Programs leading to a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science are offered by the undergraduate colleges at Rutgers. The faculty of the division are members of the School of Arts and Sciences. The Graduate Program in Computer Science, which is a program in the Graduate School, offers courses of study leading to an M.Sc. or a Ph.D. in computer science. (The Master of Philosophy degree is available to doctoral candidates who have fulfilled certain requirements except for completing a dissertation.)

At present, there are 39 full-time faculty members in the New Brunswick Division of Computer and Information Sciences. Faculty research interests include algorithms, artificial intelligence (with applications to design, genetics, law, medicine), cognitive science, combinatorics, compilers, complexity theory, computational geometry, computational linguistics, computational molecular biology, data structures, distributed systems, graphics, knowledge representation, machine learning, mathematical programming, mobile computing, networks, numerical analysis, optimization, parallel computing/systems, software engineering and vision.

The Laboratory for Computer Science Research (LCSR) is associated with the division. Its main function is to provide a center for computer science research in the University and in particular to provide the computer and clerical support for that work. Computer science grant supported research projects are administered through the LCSR.

Entry Requirements

Personal statement, official transcripts, and three letters of recommendation.