Associate in Science in Human Services

Bunker Hill Community College
United States
Associate Degree
Study mode
2 years
Contact the university / college
Tuition fee (local)
Contact the university / college
Tuition fee (foreign)
Contact the university / college


The course competencies involve four differing levels of learning and involvement on the part of the student. These levels are outlined below.

Level I: Introductory and knowledge-base Formation. The student at this level of coursework will begin to develop a knowledge base of information around the subject area and consider his/her prior learning about Human Services work as a means of beginning to construct a personal and professional knowledge base for professional practice. Specific knowledge based content areas will be delineated for each course to assure the same level of learning for all students.

Level II: Observation. The student will take the knowledge gained at Level I and apply this knowledge at a deeper level by participating through observation and case studies of Human Services programs and participants so as to understand the real world meaning of theories and concepts when applied to working programs. This level implies that Level I has begun prior to observation occurring and analysis of observed information being attempted. Specific observations will be required in each course to assure this level of learning.

Level III:  Demonstrated Application of Knowledge Gained. The student will apply the knowledge-base gained and the observations completed and be able to apply this knowledge to demonstrate that the theories, concepts, and skill development expected in the course are in fact understood and able to be applied to practice.  Specific assignments will be developed for each course to assure this level of learning.

Level IV: Practice and Demonstration of Competency. The student will be required to apply the knowledge gained, the understanding from observations, and learning from applied assignments to the practicum experience which will culminate in a portfolio assessment of  best practice  using the incorporation of the program’s competencies into the practice experience.  All four levels are implied in this demonstration of competency and specific learning experiences will be built into the practicum experience to assure this level of learning.

Share this